

Paper for: The LEP Board

Title: Agenda Item 3 – Directors' Re-Appointments

Date: 15th March, 2022

Strategic Purpose: Corporate Governance

Resource Implications: None

Board: To approve re-appointments of directors' seeking additional terms of office.

LEP

Board directors are appointed on terms of three years and may offer themselves for re-appointment for a second term (and possibly a third term) subject to board approval. Except for ex-officio roles, which apply to the leaders of the Local Authorities (or their nominated deputies) and the vice chancellor of the University of Chester, the maximum term any director may hold is 9 years (6 in Marketing Cheshire).

Two directors reach the end of their first term of office shortly:

- Trevor Brocklebank (31/3/2023) seeks re-appointment.
- Eunice Simmons (6/4/2023) ex-officio Further Education

Two directors reach the end of their second term shortly:

- John Downes (31/3/2023) Extend until after board recruitment exercise.
- Chris Hindley (31/3/2023) Extend until after board recruitment exercise.

In addition, two directors have decided to stand down:

- Alice Choi following change in job role.
- Loren Jones following change in job role.

Appendix 1 shows a full list of Board Directors and their respective terms of office.

The LEP board will comprise 13 directors, including four for re-election, and meets the local assurance framework requirement for more than half the board to be private sector (10:3) but falls slightly short of our ambition for half the members to be female (7:6).

Marketing Cheshire

Board directors are appointed on terms of three years and may offer themselves for re-appointment for a second term (unlike the LEP, there is no option to extend for a third term) subject to board approval.

The Marketing Cheshire Board has 11 members following Dr Andy Lyons reaching the end of his term and standing down. This includes 3 local authority representatives.

Appendix 2 shows a full list of Board Directors and their terms of office.



Board Member Recruitment

The table below sets out a timetable for implementing the LEP Review including that work towards a recruitment campaign for the LEP is commenced in April to reflect the conclusions of the LEP review with the revised member profile as a basis.

It is also proposed that the campaign should also include a search for a successor to Clare Hayward, as Chair of the LEP, who will be standing down by 31st March 2024, to ensure a smooth handover.

Month	Activity
April	Establish new board and sub-board structure. Determine chairs, membership, terms of reference Update Scheme of Delegation
April	Establish Business Advisory Panel Establish management processes, membership engagement
April	Prepare Board / Chair recruitment campaign Update A&R Committee
May	Mini-Conference for Business Advisory Panel
May	Procure Search Consultants for Board / Chair campaign Advertise for Board Members
May	Re-draft Local Assurance Framework
June	Board / Chair interviews Secure updated representation from Local Authorities (as required)
July	Board Appointments

Recommendation

The board is asked to approve the re-appointments and a recruitment campaign, with number determined by the structure approved in the LEP Review.



Appendix 1 – LEP Directors Terms of Office

First Name	Surname	Term	Termination Date
Russ	Bowden	2nd Term	30/06/2025
Trevor	Brocklebank	1st Term	31/03/2023
Craig	Browne	2nd Term	30/06/2025
Peter	Broxton	2nd Term	01/09/2025
Alice	Choi	1st Term	31/03/2024
Rupert	Collis	1st Term	30/03/2024
John	Downes	2nd Term	31/03/2023
Louise	Gittins	2nd Term	30/06/2025
Clare	Hayward	3rd Term	04/06/2024
Chris	Hindley	2nd Term	31/03/2023
Loren	Jones	1st Term	31/03/2024
Annette	McDonald	1st Term	31/03/2024
Kath	Mackay	1st Term	31/03/2024
Nichola	Newton	2nd Term	01/09/2025
Eunice	Simmons	1st Term	06/04/2023

Appendix 2 – Marketing Cheshire Directors Terms of Office.

First Name	Surname	Term	Termination Date
Trevor	Brocklebank	1st Term	31/03/2023
Steven	Broomhead	2nd Term	02/01/2025
Sarah	Callander Beckett	2nd Term	08/07/2025
Jamie	Christon	1st Term	01/04/2024
Gemma	Davies	1st Term	01/04/2024
Mark	Goldsmith	2nd Term	26/07/2025
Robert	МсКау	1st Term	01/04/2024
Peter	Mearns	1st Term	01/04/2024
Tracey	O'Keefe	1st Term	01/04/2024
Eleanor	Underhill	2nd Term	03/01/2024
David	Walker	2nd Term	31/08/2024